Copa America 2024 bracket: Who has qualified for knockout stage – and who is out?

Copa America is under way in the United States with some of the world’s biggest teams and biggest stars in action over the next three weeks.

Lionel Messi’s Argentina are defending champions, having lifted the title for a record-equalling 15th time last time out in Brazil in 2021.

Uruguay share that record with the reigning world champions and under Marcelo Bielsa are beginning a new era while Brazil, with stars like Vinicius Junior, Rodrygo and Alisson, are always likely contenders.

The USMNT has high hopes on home soil and want to make their mark ahead of hosting the World Cup in 2026, while Canada are embarking on their own fresh start under Jesse Marsch.

Here The Athletic gives you a rundown of who has made it through and who has gone home early.

Who is through to the Copa America knockout stages?

  • Group A: Argentina
  • Group B: Venezuela

Who is out?



Copa America 2024: A beginner’s guide

Who is still in?

  • Bolivia
  • Brazil
  • Canada
  • Chile
  • Colombia
  • Costa Rica
  • Ecuador
  • Mexico
  • Panama
  • Paraguay
  • Peru
  • United States
  • Uruguay

What is the Copa America format?

The 16-team tournament will begin with four groups of four teams. After each team has played their group opposition once, the top two will advance.

During the group phase, teams earn three points for a win, one for a draw, and zero if they lose. If you’re anti-draw, we advise you to wait until the knockout stage, where there must be a winner. If the scores are tied after 90 minutes, extra time is used, and if the scores are still level after two 15-minute halves, the match will be decided using penalty kicks.

The knockout stage consists of three rounds: the quarter-finals, semi-final and final, one fewer round than the European Championship. In the quarter-final stage, teams that finished top of their group will play against a team that finished second.

If a team progresses past that stage, they will play the semi-final. If they’re successful there, the July 14 final awaits.

GettyImages 1328082370 scaled

Argentina are defending champions (Alexandre Schneider/Getty Images)

Copa America results

June 20

June 21

June 22

June 23

June 24

June 25

  • Peru 0-1 Canada
  • Chile 0-1 Argentina

June 26

  • Ecuador 3-1 Jamaica
  • Venezuela 1-0 Mexico

Copa America fixtures

June 27

  • Panama vs USA (6pm ET, Mercedes-Benz Stadium, Atlanta)
  • Uruguay vs Bolivia (9pm ET, MetLife Stadium, East Rutherford)

June 28

  • Colombia vs Costa Rica (6pm ET, State Farm Stadium, Glendale)
  • Paraguay vs Brazil (9pm ET, Allegiant Stadium, Las Vegas)

June 29

  • Argentina vs Peru (6pm ET, Hard Rock Stadium, Miami)
  • Canada vs Chile (9pm ET, Exploria Stadium, Orlando)

June 30

  • Mexico vs Ecuador (6pm ET, State Farm Stadium, Glendale)
  • Jamaica vs Venezuela (9pm ET, Q2 Stadium, Austin)

July 1

  • USA vs Uruguay (6pm ET, GEHA Field at Arrowhead Stadium)
  • Bolivia vs Panama (9pm ET, Exploria Stadium, Orlando)

July 2

  • Brazil vs Colombia (6pm ET, Levi’s Stadium, Santa Clara)
  • Costa Rica vs Paraguay (9pm ET, Q2 Stadium, Austin)


July 4

  • Match 25 1A vs 2B (9pm ET, NRG Stadium, Houston)

July 5

  • Match 26 1B vs 2A (9pm ET, AT&T Stadium, Arlington)

July 6

  • Match 28 1D vs 2C (6pm ET, State Farm Stadium, Glendale)
  • Match 27 1C vs 2D (9pm ET, Allegiant Stadium, Las Vegas)


July 9

  • Match 29 W25 vs W26 (8pm ET, MetLife Stadium, East Rutherford)

July 10

  • Match 30 W27 vs W28 (8pm ET, Bank of America Stadium, Charlotte)

3rd place play-off

July 13

  • Match 31 L29 vs L30 (8pm ET, Bank of America Stadium, Charlotte)


July 14

  • Match 32 W29 vs W30 (8pm ET, Hard Rock Stadium, Miami)

(Omar Vega/Getty Images)

Source link

About The Author

Scroll to Top